Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions on technique and the Zone System

Question Questions on technique and the Zone System

Hello all,

This is my first on this forum!

I recently bought a second hand Sinar Norma and a 90mm Schneider-Kreuznach 90mm f/8 Super Angulon from Mr Cad in
    London. I've never done large format photography before so everything here is new to me. The camera is a little old and
    heavy but it seems like a great camera to learn and practice on. I've been reading a lot and have been learning the Zone
    System. I tried to use it recently on some night shots around Tower Bridge and the Mayor's Office in London. Below is a
    scan of my first 4x5 negative with no adjustments. The film is Fomapan 200:

Note: I say no adjustments but I had to scan the negative in two halves and stitch it together as my scanner is a
    Canoscan 9000F Mk II. That's all I did.

The shot was taken of the East side of the bridge from the South Bank at around 10pm a couple of weeks ago (late July or
    early August 2015). I used a Sekonic L308-S lightmeter which doesn't have a spot meter that works on a very specific
    location. I metered the shadow area under the bridge at 15s @ f/4 and the highlights at the top of the tower at 15s @
    f/22. It seems to me like there's more than 5 stops difference between the shadows and bright lamps here but I am not
    experienced enough to know how many by eye. To place the shadow area under the bridge in Zone III, I dropped two stops
    to 15s @ f/5.8 and converted this to 120s @ f/22 because I wanted more depth of field. I remember reading somewhere that
    reciprocity failure for Fomapan was terrible. I'd written down some user-given compensation times in my notebook of x3 @
    1s, x9 @ 10s, x18 @ 100s. Not wanting to stand around for too long I eventually went back to 15s @ f/8 and added a x9