Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can we talk about metering for color neg landscapes?

Can we talk about metering for color neg landscapes?

Soooo I am actually fairly experienced within photography and large format. I've been a pro since college and got a BA from Southern Illinois University in 2007, doing my graduating portfolio on 8x10 160 and 400NC (those were the days). But I am getting back into shooting large format for landscape and documentary work and I'd like to hear some best practice information about metering for a landscape scene with color negative film. I use a Sekonic L558. For a given portrait I meter incident and over expose by at least 1 stop, but it's a bit different because skin tones are the priority there. With a landscape you might have a huge range of tones, and an incident reading can be unreliable. I've also tried spot metering off the back of my hand (rough 18% grey spot) or grey card. I haven't had a ton of success bringing in creative exposures though... I really want to improve and generally be more confident with my metering. Especially considering the cost of 8x10!

For instance, I'm heading up to Maine in a couple weeks and I'll be bringing P400 and Ektar 100, and i'll likely be shooting 8x10 and 4x5. Any general words of wisdom, or articles I could take a look at would be helpful.

For a piece of wildcard advice, would my D750 be of any use when metering a landscape, if I use it's live view mode to judge exposure?

Cordless Bungee Jumper Sirius Glass's Avatar

Re: Can we talk about metering for color neg landscapes?

Welcome to Large Format Photography Forum.

For landscapes, I mostly use reflectance meters aimed down so that I do not meter the sky. That has only worked for me for the first fifty years.

When appropriate I use an incident meter.
    Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Drew Wiley