Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Creating Digital Negative

Creating Digital Negative

Dear Sir:
    I am a beginner but serious. I shoot 4x5 and 8x10 Black and White. I want to take one of my silver negatives and create a retouched 4X5 negative that I can use in my conventual enlarger.
    What kind of equipment do I have to have to do such a thing? Or is using an outside digital lab the most economical? I would GREATLY appreciate any help.
    Sincerely,
    Jerry Cunningham

If you want a traditonal neg you will need a film output device. I doubt you will want to buy one yourself. I would suggest finding a lab/service bureau to do this. You will also need to have your films canned which you may or may not want to do yourself.

An alternative is to make a neg to contact print. Many articles have been done on how to use a consumer table top digital printer to do this. CmeraArts magazie in their Dec 04/Jan 05 issue has a very good article on this. (I am no longer associated with CameraArts and will not benefit from your contacting them).

www.cameraarts.com

steve simmons

PS

You could use Polaroid Type 55 P/N film in your camera and not need a darkroom at all. This film scans very well and would be a great place to start.

If you are new to large format there are several articles in the Free Articles section of the web site listed below that might be helpful.

steve simmons
    www.viewcamera.com

In the old days, people would retouch directly on the negative. The backing side of most negative material today still has some retouching tooth. You can use retouching "paints" like the old SpoTone materials, or retouching pencils, chalks, etc. When you are done, toss 'em in the enlarger and away you go. That was a serious art form all its own; people used to make their living as negative retouchers in commercial photography studios. Those famous 1940s Hollywood portraits were done that way, for example.