Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: N00b Film Handling question...

N00b Film Handling question...

My daughter mentioned she wanted a view camera, so I found a good sub-$100 one for her (Calumet 45NX). I'm totally new to this, as is she. I plan to give it to her for Christmas. I have the needed accessories and a box of film wrapped and under the tree, but one thing has me baffled before I dive into this with her...

How does one handle the exposed film? Is there a second light-proof plastic bag in the film box to put it in as she takes photos? Should she put the tissues between the film sheets after exposure too? And when she sends the film across the country for processing, is it best to send it all in one bag? I want to go through a complete cycle with her before she goes back to college after Christmas.

Sorry for the very basic question but I didn't see this mentioned in the getting started guide here or the Simmons book, and I didn't know how exactly to search for this on the forum!

Re: N00b Film Handling question...

You need an empty film box to get the exposed film to the lab. Shoot me a PM with your contact info and I will send you one.

Don

PS. shoot film and save the boxes!

Cordless Bungee Jumper Sirius Glass's Avatar

OffBalance welcome to APUG
    Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Thanks guys for the welcome and the offer! Do the labs normally return the boxes with the negatives?

yes

Les