Thread: ColorRight 5.2 Software Help

ColorRight 5.2 Software Help

Hi,

I am new to scanning and I was able to get my scanner going via some help from Bruce Watson and others. I would like to know if I am scanning my transparencies correctly.

1. The example scan you see below is I loaded it up with the software and minor adjustments, saved as TIFF and then transferred my files to my other computer to process in PS.

Before I scan the transparency after I do a Preview and minor adjustments, I go into Scan Geometry and I set the lpi to 320 and change the size of the scan.
    I then press calculate and the software recommends the aperature size ex #26. You can see this in the picture below. I then save as a TIFF. I make sure I set my Filetype as TIFF/RGB as shown in the picture.

Before I start to scan I go to the ColorGetter PRo 3 Machine and change the aperature setting to # 26 to match what the software recommended after I pressed the Calculate button.
    Is this correct or am I supposed to not touch the machine to change the aperture setting?

2. I scanned another file and I noted that the software recommend an aperture setting of 50u at 22. I read that the smaller the aperture the better. So I did do a setting of 6.25 and then went to emulsion down-0.0000-0.0001. Is this a better way of scanning a transparency? I am having a hard time figuring out these different numbers. I think it would take forever to figure out the best setting.

3. When I am finished scanning an image and I saved it as a TIFF, like shown in the pictures, I try to open them up in PS on my other computer and it can't recognize the files. GIMP is the only software that recognizes them. Is there another way I should be saving the files?