Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Vacuum those film holders then Vac-seal them

Rio Oso shooter

Vacuum those film holders then Vac-seal them

I have never see a post on this proceedure but, as we all know we fight dirt on our film at all stages of the process and I have discovered a very good way that really helps. Of course I vacuum and blow out my holders, then put in the film, and then I used to just put them in my bag. I have found that if I vacuum seal them individually in a vacuum bag (like a seal-a-meal) that there is a tremendous gain in dust reduction. I have been using this procedure for about four months and it has made an unbelievable difference in the quality of the images. I am guessing that dust would just get into the cracks of the slides.....and huge number of other places that dirt and dust could lodge. I shoot 4x5 and the last batch that I scanned I literally had only about 10 minor spots on the majority of my transparencies. Give it a try!

Take Care,
    Richard

Re: Vacuum those film holders then Vac-seal them

If you remove all of the air, the dark slide would come in contact with your film. I'm guessing you aren't removing all of the air?
    Many of us just put each holder in a anti-static ziploc type bag or regular ziploc. Much cheaper, reusable, and resealable in the field.

Drew Wiley

I load mine in a true clean room. The holders themselves are blown out immediately adjacent to an industrial air cleaner. Cameras and holders are totally cleaned before and after each trip. Conditions vary dramatically. Sometimes in the mountains dust is almost nonexistent. But down on clay playas in the desert, esp in winter, in can help to actually ground the back of a metal camera using an nail, some speaker wire, and an alligator clip, to prevent static charge building up on the film. And I treat all the holders anyway with anti-static spray. Lots of things you can do to minimize dust.