Page 1 of 23 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Are museums collecting modern landscapers?

Born L.A.-NYC is 2nd Home-Rustbelt is Home Base

Are museums collecting modern landscapers?

If so, who are the photogrpahers making the grade?

Re: Are museums collecting modern landscapers?

Pretty much any successful photographer seems to prominently mention their work is in the collection of certain museums. Museums do show living photographers work, but collecting and showing are two different things. I'm no expert, but naively assume most museums get the majority of their collection from dead or aging patrons and other musuems. I've got photos in museum collections and didn't have to "make the grade". One is at a transportation museum because I volunteer with my camera and made photos nobody else did, and another is a documentary image at an art museum and if they still have it, it's probably in a file drawer somewhere and not in the climate controlled secure storage for fine art. Not knocking people who have made the grade with talented fine art and publicity and are deservedly collected, it's just a confusing thing to me about what should be collected that is made in the present.

If you're talking modern in terms of art eras, I think all the straight/F64 photographer's landscapes would qualify.

Analog Photographer Kimberly Anderson's Avatar

Yes. I've sold a 13-image portfolio to a university museum here in Utah. All work from my extended project on Utah's Great Salt Lake. Printed in pt/pd from 4x10 negatives on Arches Platine. Portfolio is limited to an edition of 18. Portfolio comes with individual letterpress folios for each image with caption information on the front. Portfolio is contained in a hand-made raw-silk covered clamshell box.

Abuser of God's Sunlight