Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Uneven Developement with Diafine - how to test properly?

Uneven Developement with Diafine - how to test properly?

Hi all,

I'm very new to self developing my 9x12cm black and white negatives (Fomapan 100) and am having trouble with uneven developement. I use Diafine, and a Paterson tank with the taco method, but I also got uneven developement when using trays.

I tried different agitation schemes from the box instructions to the method of "eye of wally" described here

eye of wally's method

.. always uneven development. It seems to me that the harder I agitate the better the negatives get - I ended up inverting for 30 seconds in A and B and after that 5 times every 30 seconds - almost continous agitation but still no even developement. My temps are fine and I used distilled water to mix the chemicals - I also use distilled water for the final rinse.

What would be the best method for testing or for working out a proper agitation scheme? Should I take some test shots of say, an evenly lit wall or is it possible to just take out a sheet of the film holder, expose it to daylight and develope the sheet? It should come out evenly dark shouldn't it? I find it hard to judge the developement of regular pictures sometimes, so I wanted to test in a more controlled manner.

Thanks in advance for your answers & all the best,

Christoph

Big Negs Rock!

Re: Uneven Developement with Diafine - how to test properly?

An evenly lit surface at about 18% will show off any problems you may have regarding development.
    Mark Woods

Large Format B&W
    Cinematography Mentor at the American Film Institute
    Past President of the Pasadena Society of Artists
    Director of Photography
    Pasadena, CA
    www.markwoods.com

You may find that development in a continuously moving motorized tank (at sufficient speed) eliminates the problem.