Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Understanding movements better to correct perspective.

Understanding movements better to correct perspective.

I have a nagging that this has been asked before. I do apologize and ask that you bear with me. I freely acknowledge that my thread searching skills are not up to snuff; as I gave up after three variations of searches.

I've been shooting 4x5 for about 3 years now. However to this day, I don't fully understand how movements can correct perspective. I've done multiple wall tests and building tests; and usually after an hour of head scratching I give up without shooting a single shot because I couldn't get the result I was going for.

This was the exercise I was going for:
    When shooting a building from ground level, the resulting image will look like a trapezoid, with the top tapered. This is a result of angling the camera upwards, shooting up at the building. My exercise is to straighten the building into a proper rectangle.
    If there are lamp posts in the foreground or other buildings in various planes in front or behind the building, is it possible to straighten those secondary subjects as well?
    Are the limitations of movements limited by the image circle? Movements? Or both? And I need to better choose my subject that are within the limitations of my equipment.

Thank you

Shen Hao 4x5 135mm and 180mm lenses with image circles large enough for 5x7

Re: Understanding movements better to correct perspective.

I am no expert, but it does seem to me that perspective control is limited to one plane. Yes that plane may be at any angle, but it is not elastic. As soon as you introduce another plane, focus and perspective change.
    Tin Can

If you keep both the back of the camera and the lens panel vertical, everything that is vertical on front of the camera (buildings, lamposts, signs etc) will end up parallel in the photo.