Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Enlarger lens question

Enlarger lens question

I have a Beseler 45MCRX enlarger and a Schneider Componon-S 150mm lens. I am unable to print 16x20 on the baseboard with it. I have found a used Rodenstock 135 lens and a Rodenstock 120 WA for twice the price of the 135. How large would I be able to print 4x5 on the baseboard with the 120mm lens?

Thanks for your help

Enlarger lens question

Something doesn't sound right. 16x20 shouldn't be an issue I think. Unless you're cropping alot. Beseler claims 20x25 with the current 4x5 model [45 MXT]

Enlarger lens question

I am a novice, so I may not be doing things correctly, but with the enlarger head as high as it will go, the top bellows set to 4x5, the 150mm lens, and without cropping I am only able to get something about like a 15 x 19 print size once I've focused it. This is an old enlarger, so the newer ones may go higher.

Enlarger lens question

with a 135mm lens on that enlarger you will be able to print 20x24 from a 4x5 neg on the baseboard.

Octogenarian

Enlarger lens question

Hi Anne,

A 135mm enlarging lens would probably be the best choice for making 16X20 prints. It will allow a more comfortable reach distance from the focusing scope on the easel/ baseboard to the focusing knob on the enlarger. A 120 WA would be even better, but it's not necessary to make the increased investment, unless you are planning on making a lot of prints larger than 16X20.

Midwest Photo has several used 135's listed on their website. The prices are reasonable The Rodenstock Rodagon's are excellent lenses, as are the Nikkor 135's.

Enlarger lens question

Measure the maximum distance D between the film and the print on the baseboard. Don't forget to include the easel in the measurement. Define the symbol alpha = D / f, where f is the focal length of the lens (be sure to use the same units for D and f). The maximum possible magnification m is