Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Paper for a newbie

Paper for a newbie

I've been shooting with a Linhof ST V for over 2 months and love the process and the output (scratched film aside). I've recently acquired an Omega D5500 enlarger with Ilford Multigrade 500 head, with intent to print my 35mm, Xpan, 6x6 and 4x5 film to 4x5, 8x10, 16x20 and possibly 20x24. However, I'm a little overwhelmed by the different kinds of paper that is available out there.

I'd like to stick with Ilford paper for the time being as I'm trying to strike a balance between availability and value for money. Given where I am as a newbie, I'd like to get my hands on some 4x5 and 8x10 to start with, and Ilford Multigrade IV seems like a good place to start. Question is, should I go with RC or FB? I understand that RC means Resin Coated and Fiber Based. RC is supposed to be easier to wash, while FB is supposed to be tough to work with but the results are great. Is this correct? All I understand about RC and FB have come from http://photo.net/black-and-white-pho...g-forum/00LmdC so far, but my research into this has become a little frustrating for a newbie.

In digital printing, I usually stick with matte for my B&W prints due to framing challenges with internal reflections from the glass.

I'm also pretty close to picking up a Nova B&W Slot Processor for 8x10 or 16x20 due to space constraints (bathroom darkroom) from Ag Photographic in the UK, and was wondering if you guys have any recommendations as to the best and fastest way to wash paper prints after they are out of the fixer.

Any help or advice, or even links to useful resources online would be very very much appreciated

Robert Bowring

Re: Paper for a newbie