Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to 4x5 photography, just bought Wisner camera, advice appreciated

New to 4x5 photography, just bought Wisner camera, advice appreciated

Hello,
    A friend of mine just sold me his Wisner 4x5 Technical Field Camera, pictures attached. He threw in a couple of lenses, an ancient 6.5 inch Goerz Dagor and an 6.5 inch Wollansak extreme WA. I just bought a Fujinon 240mm f/9 lens on eBay so that is my whole kit. Oh, I also bought a Gitzo 1228 tripod on eBay an I have to get a tripod head(GH2750?), film holders (Toyo?), and a changing tent (Harrison?), oh, and some film, plus a backpack, LOL. I have been shooting medium format for a few years and have come to dig Portra 400 for its wide latitude, but I will definitely want to shoot T-Max.

I live in New York City so I will rely on Sunshine Labs on 31st street for processing, although I have signed up for a B+W film/darkroom course at the International Center for Photography.

I have both the Simmons book and the Stroebel book. I'm looking forward to getting into slow photography! I would be happy to hear from other NYC Large Format photographers. I hope I won't be hassled for a tripod permit in Central Park. As far as I can tell, those regulations have been thrown out.

All advice is welcome! I really need an empty film box so I can take my first shots to the lab for processing. I would gladly PayPal somebody to send me an empty box.

Best,

Larry Kellogg
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Wisner1Small.jpg   Wisner2Small.jpg  

Re: New to 4x5 photography, just bought Wisner camera, advice appreciated

Nice camera, looks like your off to a good start.

Roger

It sounds like you've got a first class kit--congratulations! Your lab should be able to supply you with an empty 3 piece box. Have fun!