Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Film speed testing

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Film speed testing

Okay, I'm trying to do a film speed testing, but the two sources I have, do it in increments/decreases of 1/2 or 1/3 stops. Now, I'm a newbie. 1/2 and 1/3 stops may not be complicated to you more experienced fellows, but they are to me, a beginner soul. Can someone please give me the easy version of the film speed test? In whole stops? None of this half or third business? These are my requirements:

I'm testing my large format Sinar F2 (obviously sheet film)
    I have access to a densitometer
    I have a gray card (I know there are ways of doing this test without one, but I want to do it with a card)

I think that's it. I can't think of anything else. Can someone give me the easy version of the film speed test? Thanks.
    --Mario

Re: Film speed testing

"I would like to see Paris before I die... Philadelphia will do..."

Give this a read through...

http://www.earthscenics.com/manuals/zoneman_8_11_05.pdf

I'm just getting started in LF myself, and am about ready to start doing some testing on my own, hopefully this weekend. I have several lenses and cameras.

I read the above and I wonder if it means that you would have to do the calibration for each camera/lens combination you have??? A different ISO for this camera with that lens...etc?
    Or does the camera have very much to do with it? All my lenses are attached to shutters, so would I have to do this test for ISO determination just for each lens?

That is very complicated, how does everyone else handle having more than 1 lens and used on more than 1 camera? I have a speed chart for each lens I have and I keep it with me, I trust the aperture settings.

Thanks, Bill

Quote Originally Posted by Bill, 70's military B&W View Post
    Give this a read through...

http://www.earthscenics.com/manuals/zoneman_8_11_05.pdf