Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ideal Dark/Focusing Cloth?

Question Ideal Dark/Focusing Cloth?

I am just getting into LF and assembling my kit. This forum has been tremendously helpful. Thanks much to all who participate. I hope I can return the favor to others as I learn.

For now, I'm stuck figuring out a good focusing cloth to get. What is the ideal size for an 8x10 field camera being used outdoors? I've also read something on this forum about Harrison cloths being sticky on the silver side, but that possibly no longer being an issue with newer ones? Any other good options besides Harrison?

Thanks much for any suggestions.

Scott

Re: Ideal Dark/Focusing Cloth?

Hi Scott, and welcome to the addiction.

I have a couiple of Harrison cloths purchased new ~2 yrs ago, one for the 4x5 and one for the 8x10, and hate them.

The silver side, although it looks reflective, is not.
    It absorbs heat from the sun like a sponge, making the interior very hot and uncomfortable to use.

I put them on the shelf and went back to my black/white Delta cloths. Much cooler and more comfortable.

The main purpose of a focusing cloth is to eliminate stray light that may reflect off the GG, making it
    difficult to view the image. Any black interior will work; some folks use black T-shirts (but they're hot).

As to size...
    The large Harrison cloth is 54" x 80", which I think is too large for 8x10, but that's a personal call.

- Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

Lachlan 717

I have a BlackJacket 5x7 cloth for my 6x17cm and 4x5", and a BTZS one for my 7x17".

Both are great, but I do struggle a little in really hot weather with them. Mind you, I don't know of any other hoods that are any better.

One idea that I did like is having a small hole in one that you can fit a snorkel through to stop the GG fogging up from breathing!
    Lachlan.

You miss 100% of the shots you never take. -- Wayne Gretzky