Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tripod Query -Which Berlebach?

Tripod Query -Which Berlebach?

Hi all,

I am fairly new to large format and had a query regarding which tripod to buy. I have been using a Crown Graphic on a basic vivitar for some time now and its a bit of a pain. I recently purchased a Shen Hao and have decided to get a new tripod to go with it. I really like the look of the Berlebach tripods and as I am not going to be doing a whole lot of walking, I think I can take the weight. I am also on a bit of a budget. My question is, which one should I get:

The 1002 (Cheapest of the lot) (http://www.berlebach.de/?bereich=det...prache=english)

The 2022 (This is almost as cheap as the 1002 but has a center column - is this useful?) (http://www.berlebach.de/?bereich=det...prache=english)

The 8033 (This is just about within my budget but the leg has 3 elements compared to the 2022) (http://www.berlebach.de/?bereich=produkte)

Also, I have been given a Manfrotto 141 head and really don't want to purchase a new one. Is this adequate for the shen hao (which I am yet to receive, so cant try it out)?

Many thanks in advance.

Rahul

Re: Tripod Query -Which Berlebach?

Rahul, I have worked with Berlebach tripods for over 20 years now - they are great! Looking at the models you picked, I noticed a wide range of maximum extensions. Some require you to work on your knees. Only 2022 is high enough to work in eye height. Forget the other two. They are smaller for transportation, but hardly usable for LF work.

The Manfrotto 141 head should work fine with either a Crown Graphic or a 4x5" Shen Hao.

Michael

Quote Originally Posted by Michael E View Post