Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Continuous Ink System: Opinions?

Continuous Ink System: Opinions?

Hi,
    I'm considering buying my first digital printer, an Epson 2400, and I'm looking into continuous ink systems.
    I found this:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/250407322243...ht_1142wt_1066

Are these viable systems? What should I be aware of when considering/buying something like this? Are the inks of good quality?

Any help is appreciated, I'm very new to digital printing.

Thanks in advance

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

Re: Continuous Ink System: Opinions?

We tried a similar system, a "Niagra IV" with an Epson printer at my high school a few years ago. I couldn't get it to work, two computer technology teachers couldn't get it to work, the district's Technology Department couldn't get it to work, volunteers from a local digital photo club couldn't get it to work, and several technology savvy parents couldn't get it to work. We never got a satisfactory print from it, and finally threw the whole thing out.

It did, however, successfully void the warranty on the Epson printer.
    "I love my Verito lens, but I always have to sharpen everything in Photoshop..."

Yes, but Mark, did you ask the janitor to see if he could make it work?

You probably should have asked a nine-year-old.

I used a continuous ink system for a few years with an Epson printer for doing direct-on-CD printing in my recording business. It was a great system and extremely economical. I only moved on when I bought a printer that could print 100 CD's at a time.

I highly recommend it, but admittedly I never did any printing of really high-detail things, mostly just text and some basic photos, but I was always very pleased and surprised with the detail and sharpness of the printer/ink.