Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lens questions from a newbie

Lens questions from a newbie

I am fairly new to large format in terms of actual practical use, so please don't laugh at my newbie questions! I finally had time to push through the troubleshooting phase (fixing camera light leaks, discovering BTZS tubes and developing a successful batch of film), so I'm ready to get out and start making pictures. I desperately need some lens advice, though. So far I have been using a 14" Kodak Commercial Ektar in an Ilex 5 shutter that I got from a member on this forum back when I first acquired my camera, which is a beautiful foundation lens for full coverage. I would like to have something on hand for some less conventional shots, with slight vignetting and possibly some interesting bokeh.

I've been reading up on Petzval and other antique lenses, but in my ignorance I am completely at a loss of whether or not they can be mounted in a shutter, how to tell which shutter I could mount one in, how difficult it would be, and what would be needed for such a process. I'm assuming if I can mount one in a shutter finding the correct lens board would be the easy part, as I just need to match it to the shutter size?

I've attached some shots (Sally Mann, I know, of course) of what look I'm going for. Neither strikes me as a Petzval though from what I've read/seen. I know that she's used a lot of old and damaged lenses for her more recent work, but I'm more interested in her older work with Immediate Family, when she was working with film. From what I saw in the Blood Ties documentary, most (if not all) of the Immediate Family shots were shot with the aid of a shutter (and possibly even a more modern lens that simply did not cover 8x10?) I'm shooting 8x10 as well, so I'm assuming that if I want to achieve any vignetting I'd need to look for something under 250mm?

Apologies for being so long-winded, and thank you for any advice you can give!

Re: Lens questions from a newbie