Thread: LF new guy - help setting up a shot

LF new guy - help setting up a shot

Hello all,

I'm new to LF, and pretty excited to start shooting. I acquired a nice Toyo 45AII and 150mm Nikkor. Now I need a few film holders and a light meter to start shooting.

A shot I want to do is a football on the grass, with a good background, such as a goalpost, scoreboard or something like that. I want the football in the foreground, as near as possible to the lens, and the goalpost/scoreboard/press box in the background.

I would like some input on the composition. I could do the football in sharp focus, leave the lens at a wide aperture and have the background in soft focus, but still discernable. Another thought (my first idea) was to have the foreground and background both in sharp focus, whenceforth comes my question.

What is an approximately minimum foreground to lens distance I can achieve, while having the background (50-100 yds away) still in sharp focus. And would my camera + lens combination have the amount of coverage needed with the required amount of front tilt? The lens is a 150mm W Nikkor.

The question sounds complicated but I think this is a pretty straightforward LF shot. I just have never done it before, so I need to get my LF spidey senses calibrated. Thanks for any input.

Re: LF new guy - help setting up a shot

Quote Originally Posted by chassis View Post
    Hello all,

I'm new to LF, and pretty excited to start shooting. I acquired a nice Toyo 45AII and 150mm Nikkor. Now I need a few film holders and a light meter to start shooting.

A shot I want to do is a football on the grass, with a good background, such as a goalpost, scoreboard or something like that. I want the football in the foreground, as near as possible to the lens, and the goalpost/scoreboard/press box in the background.