Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Light Leak or Glare?

Light Leak or Glare?

I'm new to using an 8x10 camera and on my first two shots one of them has a really bad light leak, or what I think is a light leak. I've shot 4x5 for 10 years and have never had never seen this before. Just wanna know your opinion/tips. Bought 2 new fidelity film holders and used one of them. One of the shots came out fine and the other looked like this:

Re: Light Leak or Glare?

I would vote for a light leak.
    Joanna Carter
    Grandes Images

UKLFPG

I agree with the likelyhood of a light leak, but it is also obvious that the sun was high above and slightly behind the subject, which means it is somewhat aimed into your lens. Did you have the lens properly shaded for this exposure? If not, this could very well be a big flare pattern, especially on an older, un-coated lens.

The film was in a vertical position. The sun nearly overhead. Did you shade the film holder while removing the dark slide and then either re-insert the slide part way or cover the opening with your dark cloth during the exposure? Even a brand new film holder might leak from strong direct sunlight into the slit. Also, if it wasn't perfectly seated, a leak can occur through the back's light trap for the same reason.

Have you also checked your bellows for problems. I once had a two part bag bellows (the old Zone VI variety that had a bag in front, directly glued to a pleated section in back) that fell apart during a shoot. The top seam began to separate due to the heat and I only caught the leak then because I was shooting tests on Polaroid.
    "One of the greatest necessities in America is to discover creative solitude." Carl Sandburg