Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Minimum focus distance and shooting down.

Minimum focus distance and shooting down.

Hello everyone,
    I am a complete newbie to LF, but I've been shooting digital and some MF for a while. I like to take pictures of the ground and blow them up, but the LF cameras are so big, can I point them straight down at the ground? And if I can, what is the minimum focus distance?
    I'm usually about 3 1/2 feet from the ground, at about 45mm (APC 1.6 crop). I bought a Sinar A1 that has 19" bellows I think. As I said, I don't know anything about LF except that it will allow me to enlarge the way I would like to. What focal length would the APC sized sensor equate to in LF?
    Also, with the bellows, I've read something about image circle and focusing, so I don't know if it is even possible to tripod-mount the camera pointing down and focus so close to the ground. Anyway, sorry for the long and noobish questions. Hope someone can help.

Note: I bought the camera, but have no lens yet. Any ideas on focal length or quality of brands (since my work depends on sharp, little details) that I should buy for what I'm trying to do?

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

Re: Minimum focus distance and shooting down.

Yes, you can point a LF camera straight down. The minimal focus distance is 4 times the focal length of the lens, measured from ground glass to subject. There are a few exceptions - some telephoto lenses can manage a bit closer since the nodal point is actually somewhere in front of the lens.

You're about 1m from the ground as I think (metric), so a lens a little shorter than 250mm would be fine. The focal length corresponding to your 45mm on APC format is a bit more difficult - with LF, you are in the macro range at those distances and the usual rule-of-thumb doesn't work.

Here's one shot on 9x12cm film (a little smaller than 4x5") with a 150mm lens, from about 1m up: