Thread: Newbie Info Request

Newbie Info Request

I am brand new to the world of large format photography. I've been using 35mm film for decades, digital 35mm for about 10 years. I've recently come into possession of a Crown Graphic "Special" field/press camera with four film backs and a polaroid back. All appears to be in working order. The camera has a Graflok back. Never having used 4x5 sheet film or a LF camera before, I am looking for the someone in the Everett WA area whom I can chat with who may be able to assist me in:
    Learning the basic mechanics of this camera. (film loading, tilt, focus technique, etc.)
    Information on a good lab (preferably in the Everett WA area) for 4x5 film processing and information on creating digital images from negatives taken with this camera.
    A local source for film and accessories such as a 120 roll back for this camera.

Thanks in advance,
    Wayazo

Format Omnivore Brian C. Miller's Avatar

Re: Newbie Info Request

Hi! I'm in Everett, close to "downtown." Sure, I can show you how to use it. Send me a PM, and we'll get together.

Unfortunately, developing the film is something you will have to do at home, or send it out. I can help you a bit with that, and give you a list of things to get from Glazer's near downtown Seattle.

The original 2x3 (6x9 approximately) roll film backs for the cameras aren't expensive, but they don't have a good reputation for holding film absolutely flat. More like Holga "good enough flat." There is a later Graflex model with a presure plate, and the more modern holders have pressure plates, too.

You'll need a scanner that can handle 4x5 negatives. I have an Epson 3200, which does a pretty decent job. I have my own enlargers, which I prefer.