Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How would you set this picture up?

How would you set this picture up?

I was having a hard time getting everything in focus for this photo, using nikon 90mm on 4x5 chamonix. I'm new to the LF, but didn't see how any movements would help the focus. Ended up giving up and going to f32. What would you have done?
    Last edited by verbier123; 28-Sep-2009 at 12:49. Reason: image change

Re: How would you set this picture up?

A little front tilt would help get the lower foreground and upper background in focus. Review AA's "The Camera" for instructions on camera movements.

Unless the subject is a flat plane with nothing protruding, movements alone can't accomplish everything.

However, with movements and a small f/stop, (and a comparatively short lens) we can get by in most cases.

Hi Verbier123,

I’m in agreement with the comments above, but in addition, can you provide a little more information? Generally, what were your compositional aims – such as principal subject of interest (if any), focus priorities (if you had to choose), or degree of water motion?

What camera movements did you finally use? Which portions of the scene did you find most difficult to focus? Was it a windy day?

There may be some easy, original and revealing tips in store if you can offer just a little more about your objectives, and where you think you fell short.

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

The foreground at the bottom is closer to the camera than the background at the top of the frame. Remembering that the image is upside down on the gg/film, I would tilt the rear of the camera, with the top of the camera back (foreground) moved slightly farther away from the lens for closer focus, and the bottom of the camera back (background) moved slightly closer to the lens for farther focus. I would still set the aperture very small, as the subject isn't on a flat plane.