Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How would you photograph this scene?

How would you photograph this scene?

This is Trillium Lake in Oregon. I am going there tonite near sunset to photograph this scene and need your advise on how to do it. I am new to large format and really want to get this done right.

First of all, I was taught to focus on the furthest and the nearest object I want in focus and to note the distance on my rail and split the difference. The furthest object is the mountain itself. The closest object could be either the trees on the sides of the lake, the edge of the lake between the reflection and the mountain, or the reflection of the mountain peak in the water, which (duh to myself) couldn't be in focus since it is seen on moving water).

So, please tell me how you would photograph this scene. I would like your opinion before I get there. Also, any filters you might recommend?

Equipment: Tachihara 4 x 5, 135mm Nikkor 6.8 lens, velvia 100.

Re: How would you photograph this scene?

I've been there and taken that shot, not at sunset though. Functionally speaking, everything in that shot is at infinity- especially with a 135mm lens on 4x5. Square up the camera, focus on the far shore of the lake, use rise/fall to compose, then f/16 and shoot. I can't imagine any filters needed, but someone else might.

Octogenarian

Hi Gary,

A 135 lens, will give you a huge amount of depth of field.

Focus approx. i/3 into the scene and close down to f22. Everything will then be sharp. The light might be too dim for you to focus using the method that you described.

No need to use filter.

Meter off of the surface of the water. It should be very close to medium grey (Zone V).

Bracket 1/2 stop over and 1/2 stop under, if in doubt.

BTW, that Nikkor 135 is f5.6.

Richard M. Coda

I'd get there early to focus, bring a nice sandwich and a bottle of wine or a few beers and wait for sunset. Then all you have to do is meter.