Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: sharp and cheap 90mm ?

Red face sharp and cheap 90mm ?

Hello everyone!

I just got myself a lovely tachihara, and I'm now looking for a wide angle 90mm lens to go with it

I just finished my studies and don't have much money to spend trough, but I would like to get the sharpest lens that I can afford.

I was thinking about the super angulon F8.
    Someone offered me one of those dated from the '60, but I'm still trying to understand which model is it, and I was said that it doesn't have a previev lever, and that I'll have to use the B setting with the cable release. would that be all right?

I'm a bit new to LF, and I'm a bit confused.

I saw some auction on ebay of that same lens, but some of those goes for 100$ and others for 600$.
    Do you have any advice? I'd like to understand if there is any big difference between those models, and if there is any other recommended brand as well.
    I'm starting a project in which a bit of architecture will be involved and need something sharp

thanks!

Re: sharp and cheap 90mm ?

The early 90mm Super Angulons are excellent lenses, the coatings are good although obviously not multi-coated, and they are extremely sharp.

The difference in prices may well reflect the age and whether MC.

Other good 90mm's are the Rodentsock Grandagon f4.5 or f6.8 also sold rebadged as Caltars, Both Nikon & Fuji made good 90mm's as well.

Ian

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

Early 90mm f:8 Super Angulons came in size 00 shutters, which do not have a preview lever. Later versions have better coating, and size 0 shutters which do have preview levers.

I use one of these old ones with a locking cable release, and it's a very good lens. However I frequently use a simple old 90mm f:6.8 Angulon instead, if I don't need the extra coverage of the SA.

The 90/8 should be just about the best available for your use - on your budget.

thank you!