Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Kansas City

Hello from Kansas City

Hello Everyone,

I'm Dave Williams and I live in Kansas City, Missouri. I've been following this forum for a few weeks and finally got registered today. I love the photography and the wealth of information here. It has inspired me to return to large format work.

I've been a photographer most of my life and worked in 4x5 color and black and white quite a bit in the eighties while I was the staff photographer at a theological seminary here.

I started with an old Crown Graphic loaned to me by a professor who used it as a missionary in Africa in the forties. Then I picked up an old Calumet CC401 and a Caltar II E 210mm lens and have been using it since.

I went digital several years ago with a Nikon D 70, and most of what I've shot since then has been with that camera. I thought about getting back into large format several times the last few years but for some reason just didn't. But lately the urge has been stronger and I found this forum while surfing and fell back in love again.

So I'm cleaning up the old tank and getting ready to jump in again. I need to look around here and see how people are using scanners and printers, since I no longer have a wet darkroom.

I've shot architecture, advertising products, portraits, landscapes and still lifes over the years. Now my interests lie mainly in portraiture and landscape.

Looking forward to getting to know everyone and learning from the group.

Dave Williams

Smile Re: Hello from Kansas City

Hi Dave! Welcome to the forum!

Re: Hello from Kansas City

Welcome to the forum Dave. Just watch out that you don't catch GAS (gear acquisition syndrome) from reading all the posts. It's a debilitating disease.
    I've been in KC, great Ribs! Come to think of it, that should probably be your first picture post.