Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: lightweight or compact enlarger

lightweight or compact enlarger

I live in Bangkok, and have limited access to photographic equipment. Currently I am using a Graflarger, which I bought primarily because I could afford the shipping from the US. Although this enlarger makes nice 5x8 prints, at 8x10 the corners start fading. I'm not sure if that is because I am using a small aperture (often f11), but I suspect that it is because the light is simply not powerful enough.

Anyway, I am going to spend a month in the US in June, and thought I would see if I could find a 4x5 enlarger that (broken down) would fit in a suitcase. I have no experience of normal enlargers, so not sure if any fit the bill. Is it possible?

Tim

Octogenarian

Re: lightweight or compact enlarger

The corners of your 8X10's are vignetting because your lens does not cover the format. Closing down increases the size of the image circle. Insufficient light would increase the printing time, not decrease the covering power of the lens.

Perhaps you can solve your problem with a suitable enlarging lens.

I've never seen a collapsable 4X5 enlarger. An enlarger for 4X5 negatives requires a large size column and baseboard. However, I suppose if you had a big enough suitcase----------

Thanks Gem. Its not vignetting, as its fine if I make a 5x8 enlargement. Also, it appears in enlargements done with my pinhole camera, so I am sure it is either in the development process, or enlargement itself. Perhaps its because I am using a taking lens instead of a dedicated enlarging lens (127mm raptar) and I have light falling off around the outside of the projection?

About the enlarger, thats what I was worried about. From pictures, the head looks like it would easily fit in a suitcase, but the stand looks long. I don't know why it should be so long, as with the graflarger I don't ever seem to shift the camera more than a foot. Maybe I can just get the head, and build a stand here.