Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: night photography

night photography

Hi, my question; If one wanted to shoot a great cityscape at night but wanted to have a person in the foto how would you do it ? I know the length of exposure for the city itself would be long( maybe 4-8 min). But with a person in the foto and much closer wouldn't the long exposure wash out the detail of the city backdrop ? Or if you got the person right wouldn't the city scape be underexposed ?
    Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving

Re: night photography

Sorry I got it crossed. What I am wanting to know is how to get the exposure righ on both the person and the cityscape

Flash/strobe light the person. Adjust power to match aperture in use.

Ok, so if i have to expose the city shot for 5 mins? Sorry if I sound stupid but im new to LF dont understand

Matt just use a flash for the person you want to photograph. Continue with the exposure for the city as normal. In fact I'd be inclined to flash at the end of the city exposure.

Confidently Agnostic!

Quote Originally Posted by Wayne Crider View Post
    Matt just use a flash for the person you want to photograph. Continue with the exposure for the city as normal. In fact I'd be inclined to flash at the end of the city exposure.
    Just make sure there's nothing bright behind your person (no lights, no illuminated trees, walls, buildings, etc) or they will look like a ghost.

Ok, let me see if I've got it,I can be pretty thick at times. For example lets say I am doing an 8 minute exposure on this shot, I could theoreticaly set up the shot have my model pose, take a flaSH exposure, have her step out of the picture and then continue on with the shot right? Making sure that it is a dark backdrop for my model.
    Thanks for all the help, I know us newbees can get frustrating.
    Happy Thanksgiving, Matt