Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 8x10 lens help for a newbie!

8x10 lens help for a newbie!

Hey everyone, I'm a complete newbie to large format (well, I used one a couple of times 5 years ago, haha). I've recently come into a nice 8x10 Orbit (which, through my research, I believe is made by Calumet?)

Anyway, I'm in need of a lens and shutter and I have no idea where to start. I generally take portraits/landscape, with very little to no studio work (which I realize may be crazy with such a heavy camera, but I'm young, if not now, when?) I'm just looking for a normal lens...no wide-format, no telephoto.

Any recommendations? I could really use your help!

Re: 8x10 lens help for a newbie!

You can't get to the classifieds as you're brand new but there are 2 chaps there who have Kodak 14" Commercial Ektar lenses for sale. You probably couldn't find a more forgiving and satisfying lens to tackle 8X10 with. A favorite of mine are most of the Schneider G-Claron's. 210 240 270 and 305mm all cover the format. There's several on Ebay this week.

Well, there are plenty of good older lenses to be had that would likely suit your needs:

14" Kodak Commercial Ektar ( my sentimental favorite)
    12" Wollensak Velostigmat (a classic, undervalued)
    Wollensak Triple Convertable 1A (3 focal lengths for the price of one, undervalued)
    375mm Ilex Paragon (another "standard")
    Schneider Symmar double convertable (both normal and long for the price of one)
    12" Goerz Dagor (the "standard")
    16-1/2" Goerz APO Artar (normal/longish, probably worth every penny)

I'd consider any of these lenses a good place to start.
    Have fun!
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

The "standard" focal length of lenses for a particular format is equal to the length of the diagonal of the film. For 8x10 this is about 12" (300mm).