Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sironar-S vs Sironar-N

Sironar-S vs Sironar-N

Hey folks,

While I patiently wait for my first LF camera (a Chamonix 45N-1!), I've slowly been gathering a few things to get me started. So far I picked up a few film holders and a Super Angulon 90mm f/8 lens. I've also been looking for a Sironar-S 150mm lens, but after a few other purchases, my budget seems to be shrinking.

So my question is, other than the image circle coverage difference, is there anything else that is different between a Sironar-S and Sironar-N lens? I'm also unsure how much coverage I will actually need from a lens, seeing as I have never used a LF camera before. I'm sure that I will use camera movements, but by how much, I have no idea! Also, I feel that 90mm maybe a bit too wide for portraits (I mainly shoot landscapes and portraits). A 150mm lens is not much longer, but I think it will serve well as a double-duty lens and I've heard that the 150mm Sironar-S is one of the top lenses out there in that focal length.

Has anyone used both lenses and could you please share the most notable differences?

Thanks,

Jason

Re: Sironar-S vs Sironar-N

Just saw this site:

http://www.hevanet.com/cperez/testing.html

These are all just numbers to me and I do not know how they translate in "real-life" shooting, but it seems like the Sironar-S is just sharp all across the board and the Sironar-N seems to suffer in the corners/edges.

I may or may not have answered my own question, but I would love to hear some of your own insights!

Thanks,

Jason

I have several focal lengths in both the S and N series, and for some focal lengths I have both S and N.