Thread: LCD monitors for image editing

LCD monitors for image editing

I am in the market to replace my 21" and 19" CRT monitors with a single wide format LCD monitor. I am currently running a dual head Windows system. I'm looking for some input on what might be an appropriate size (I'm thinking 24" or larger) and experiences with brands and models. I was just looking at the Samsung Syncmaster 245BW. It is reletively inexpensive and is not loaded down with a bunch of bells and whistles that I don't need. I like that. One of my concerns is the ability to calibrate it.

Any thoughts.

Thanks.

jim

アナログ侘・寂

Re: LCD monitors for image editing

You should do a test run in the store, if possible, and see for yourself what kind of controls it offers.

I have some experience with low- to mid- end Samsung LCDs, and was not too happy with what they offered in the way of calibration - i.e. usually 3 presets for color, gamma, etc. No way to select the color temperature in Kelvins, or any fine tuning, and their "MagiColor" or whatewer it's caled is simply annoying.

They are praised as good monitors for gamers, though
    (meaning they have fast response times and lively colors: the former is irrelevant for your application, and the latter is simply a big annoyance!)

Just my 2c worth...

If I were in the market for a monitor for image editing, I would ask Pat Herold at Chromix.

The Samsung 245T is a better panel compared to the 245BW. You might want to read the archives here to do a little research before buying.

Doug
    ---
    www.BetterScanning.com

Hmm, been a year since I asked this question. Still have not done anything. Probably will not either. Other hardware needed to be updated. Like processor, memory and video card. Now have dual core, 8gigs of RAM and a moderately hot rod display card (NVidia 9800 GTX+) that CS4 likes. Plus Vista64 so now I don't have memory swaps while working on large images. The monitors are just fine for now.