Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Big Aperature lens for 4x5 Shen Hao Field

Smile Big Aperature lens for 4x5 Shen Hao Field

Hi everyone

I am new to LF photography and LF Forum.

I like very much short DOF and bokeh created by big aperture lenses. I have a 180mm f/5.6 lens to go with my Shen Hao field and am looking for something faster with a shutter, eg, the Xenota 150mm f/2.8.

I would like to learn more about the variety of lenses in this aspect and where I could find them.

Appreciate very much your suggestions and comments.

cheers
    ChaCha

http://www.flickr.com/photos/chachah...7600900489543/
    Last edited by chachahavana; 26-Mar-2008 at 11:28. Reason: paste a web link

Re: Big Aperature lens for 4x5 Shen Hao Field

The Xenotar 150mm f/2.8 is a good choice, abeit usually fairly expensive.

Try looking for a 210mm f/4.5 lens. The Voigtlander Heliars are very desireable because of their bokeh, but they have been fairly expensive lately too. A cheaper option might be a 210mm f/4.5 Schneider Xenar in a Copal 3 shutter.

There are some more exotic fast lenses in barrel, but those would be difficult to mount on a Shen Hao.

Another fast lens is the Dallmeyer Pentac, it's an 8" (203mm) F2.9 They usually come in barrels but can be mounted in #5 Alphax and Compund shutters.
    Most of the lenses are not made by Dallmeyer but by subs and are often named AM (Air Ministry) AM lenses vary in QT It is a Heliar design, big and need to be mounted on special lens boards. I have one and use it on a Shen Hao so it can be done.

Thanks for sharing Sheldon. Do you know the price of a Xenota amd where I could find one.

This afternoon, I've bought an old/new stock of Great Wall ( Shanghai made, very rare, I even don't know it exists !) 210mm f/4.5 w/ compur 3 shutter. I will try it later.

Just check out your flickr stream, the images are Great. Do you mind sharing with me what equiptment do you use.

cheers
    ChaCha

Hi Jan
    Thank you for sharing.