Thread: Need advice on professional photography website project

Question Need advice on professional photography website project

Hello everyone.

I am a programmer/webmaster and I am currently working on a project to set up a professional photography website, I am talking something very professional and easy to use for buyers like comstock or istockphoto, where you can sell royalty free images but also promote your self as a professional.

The think is that the interest of the project is not to directly profit from image sells, the photographer would be in charge of making the final sell, keeping 100% of the income, the project would make a profit in other ways (but not in publicity or subscriptions, it would be free to use)

What I would like to know is if this sounds good to you as a photographer? or if it doesn't seem to be of any help?

Any comments would be very appreciated.

Regards,

Felipe

Re: Need advice on professional photography website project

Remember this is the large format photography forum. You will find that few people who shoot large format or equivalent will have any interest in anything that's even remotely royalty-free.

Thanks for your response, that is actually part of my question, but I am not good at asking.

The project would allow you to expose your self as a photographer, link to your website and promote your other work, not-royalty free (not sure how to call it).

Getty Images probably has the easiest to use Stock Photography website out there. You might also want to look into iPNStock, Jupiter Images, and Corbis. All of them have lightbox features, are fairly user friendly, and have good search features. The downside of starting a stock imaging company is that your search feature will not have many images nor keywords from which to gather results. At the low end, you might investigate Alamy.