Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wishing to get a start in LF photography

Wishing to get a start in LF photography

I am a serious amateur photographer who feels that my vision and subject matter may be maligned by my current digital tools. IN many ways, I want to become more deliberate and slow down the pace of what I am doing. I am a little apprehensive in additional investment yet more equipment and returning to the darkroom. Invariably, I would like to insert a little digital into the process (scanning the final negative, perhaps) for the purpose of limiting my darkroom expenses, etc.

Is there someone you can refer me to that might be of assistance in this matter? Is there anyway I could perhaps rent any LF equipment first before buying?

Thanks,

Jack Haefner

The Haefner's
    www.jackhaefner.com
    www.jackhaefner-photography.com

Re: Wishing to get a start in LF photography

A good place to start is a copy of Steve Simmons' Using The View Camera

Check with your local college to see if they offer a course that will permit you to use their large format cameras. If not, unless you live in a major (often very major) metropolitan area there would be little chance of renting gear from a local business, though if you have a week end to devote to the cause you might find a workshop where you could get hands on experience.

If niether are likely options, get a Calumet metal monorail with a decent lens and a few holders for very few $$ and go fo it!
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White