Thread: Dry plate development

Dry plate development

So I’m new with dry plates.
    I’m having a lot of problems with my dry plate development.

My first try the images where underexposed, but that was my own fault, exposed at iso 6 instead of 2.

So yesterday a new try, Found a nice composition, took one Ortho 80. Came out perfect.
    After taking a reading for the Ortho, I changed the iso from iso 80 to iso 2, and exposed two plates. For the second plate I added extra exposure.

Development in an SP445 tank, with HTC110, 1:31, 20 degrees and 5 min.
    But the plates ( I developed them separated !) are ‘black’ but you can see a light positive image on it, so i’m now quite confused.
    I’m doing something wrong but have no idea.

Re: Dry plate development

Pull a darkslide out at time intervals
    Tin Can

If you're using Zebra Dry plates, I personally found HC-110 to be much too aggressive and my first plates were nearly black, too. I finally settled on Thornton's Two-Bath or 510-Pyro at 1:150. If your scenes reveal a lot of sky, that area will be quite dark. I always had good luck with HC-110 for J Lane plates.

Quote Originally Posted by Alan9940 View Post
    If you're using Zebra Dry plates, I personally found HC-110 to be much too aggressive and my first plates were nearly black, too. I finally settled on Thornton's Two-Bath or 510-Pyro at 1:150. If your scenes reveal a lot of sky, that area will be quite dark. I always had good luck with HC-110 for J Lane plates.
    Alan, Yes they are Zebra Dry plates. it’s much cheaper to by them here in Europe and supporting a young enterpreneur who is still in old techniecs.
    HC-110 is advised by him so that’s why I used it. I not quite sure If can find 510-Pyro over here.

multiplex

Quote Originally Posted by Tin Can View Post
    Pull a darkslide out at time intervals
    I agree with the test strip, but it might be easier ( not chance of camera movement ) using the dark slide in front of the lens….