Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Film Problem with HP5 ?

Film Problem with HP5 ?

Asking for help and advise, I have been processing my own film for 25 years all large format, but I'm a little stumped,
    I ordered Ilford Hp5 through the ULF program last year and I received in November last year the size is 7x11.
    The first negative is processed in my standard Pyrocat-hd, water bath and Formular fixer TF4... They seem to have a base fog ? I check the holders by processing a loaded sheet but unexposed
    it came out perfectly clear.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	49A4ED0D-36E7-4C37-B8F2-F39AFAC04105_1_201_a.jpg 
Views:	94 
Size:	32.7 KB 
ID:	246530

The second negative is processed in kodak HC-110 with stop bath and ilford fixers, same effect ?

Name:	7F39E82D-9FB3-4864-A5CE-C6F9F1778747.jpg 
Views:	88 
Size:	69.4 KB 
ID:	246531

Re: Film Problem with HP5 ?

I've occasionally had problems using Pyro developers on HP5, with results like yours: excessive base density (which HP5 is inclined to do anyway). No idea why it happens, but I avoid Pyro with HP5 now.

Drew Wiley

I exclusively used PMK pyro for HP5; never a problem. But that's pyrogallol based, not pyrocat. Still, the effect should be similar. Plus I always used an acid stop bath. HP5 behaves slightly like an old school thick-emulsion film, and retains the developer deeper and longer than typical modern thin emulsion films. So the culprit might be your use of plain water in lieu of a real stop bath. But you get a little more edge fbf with HP5 than most other films regardless. Have you tried actually printing these?

I'm not really seeing elevated base density in the examples. Looks pretty clear to me.

The rebates on the film look fairly clear, so you're not dealing with base fog.