Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need Advice for beginner Platinum and Palladium Printing

Need Advice for beginner Platinum and Palladium Printing

I'm new to Platinum and Palladium printing and would greatly appreciate any advice! I've made a few test prints, and I'm having difficulty figuring out the right amount of emulsion and exposure times.

Some questions I have:
    - Does the amount of emulsion make a difference in whether an image will appear lighter or darker? I made 2 test prints, both at the same exposure time but with one that had slightly more emulsion. The one that had more emulsion came out darker. Please take a look at the attached images.

- My images appear soft and a little out of focus despite the negative being sharp and in focus. Is there something I might be doing wrong, or is the soft print just a natural characteristic of platinum and palladium prints?

- Is the clearing bath reusable, and if not, what is the safest way of disposing of the used clearing bath?

- Will there always be equal amounts of Palladium and ferric oxalate when mixing the emulsion? And how do you guess how much Platinum to add?

- My exposure times are somewhere around 15-22 minutes. This seems too long compared to some YouTubers I follow who claim to have 5-11 minutes of exposure time. I bought the same UV lights as Tim Layton after watching his YouTube video describing his UV printer - Tim Layton's Youtube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcRPtAVi_jU

Thanks for taking the time to help! I'm sure I'll have a million more questions as I go on...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG_4156.jpg   IMG_4163.jpg  

Scott Davis

Re: Need Advice for beginner Platinum and Palladium Printing

Quote Originally Posted by Dankinnane View Post
    I'm new to Platinum and Palladium printing and would greatly appreciate any advice! I've made a few test prints, and I'm having difficulty figuring out the right amount of emulsion and exposure times.