Thread: Hello from Arkansas!

Hello from Arkansas!

I'm Dotz0cat. Usually I'm called dotz. I would currently describe myself as a nuggeteer. This is because I like to take pictures on digital nuggets. Digital nuggets are small early digital cameras from the 2000s. I call them nuggets because they are weird, idiotic, cheap, and/or plasticky. They can be fun to use sometimes.

I currently don't do much analog. Though I am always working on building up my collection. Of the analog stuff I have, it is mostly 35mm. I currently have a voigtlander vitessa T, and a potentially cooked minolta maxxum 8000i.

I don't have anything large format yet. Though I hope to change that sooner or later. My step-dad has (or will have) a garage full of wood working tools. Because of that I am currently in the process of drawing up some plans for a diy 4x5. I'll post my current plans in the diy forums later.

So a little more about myself, I am currently a college student. I am a computer science major, in my 3rd(ish) year. I go to what I call a big state college. I haven't really met any other photographer there yet, but I haven't looked either. I only transferred to the college last semester.

Glad to be here!

Re: Hello from Arkansas!

Excellent, another native Arkansan here (from the southwestern corner of the state) though I’m currently in East Tennessee. I think you’ll find a lot of diverse approaches to photography here on the forum.

Welcome!

I am old and in the way
    Tin Can

Arkansas isn’t too far away and we go visit relatives there once in a while. I’ve had a few digital nuggets in the past, but now I just use this iPad.

I once built a 4x5 pinhole camera that was basically just a walnut box. Had some fun with it and got a few very nice images out of it. Good luck on your project.

Tm

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    ...Dilettante! Who you calling a Dilettante?