Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: DIY shutter-speed tester: Informed opinions?

DIY shutter-speed tester: Informed opinions?

Hey, folks. Any of you technically inclined wizards have thoughts on the item linked below? The author says it's only good to speeds as short as 1/30 or 1/60, but that accounts for many of the ones I use in LF, at least. It's investment cost is very small, and I'm guessing that where to put the wires is indicated somehow in the code her provides--just a guess, since I have zero knowledge of electronics.

I'm wondering what prevents modest accuracy -- say, 1/4 stop -- up to 1/125 or 1/250. Photo cell? Rasberry? Could this be improved upon with another $10 or so?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1OOC43ndPs
    Philip Ulanowsky

Sine scientia ars nihil est. (Without science/knowledge, art is nothing.)
    www.imagesinsilver.art
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/156933346@N07/

Re: DIY shutter-speed tester: Informed opinions?

It is a couple of polling loops. There is a certain unavoidable overhead in the test and recording, but that can be determined by making both while tests succeed immediately giving the minimum code execution time. The Pico is available and cheap, but runs at 133Mhz. A full Pi 4 at 1.5Ghz would be over 10x faster. But they are still victims of the chip shortages. Fine if you have one.

The iPhone app that used a photocell stored a short audio clip and used the sensor to blip the audio input. The signal processor for audio is very fast, so the recording had no polling delays. The time was then eyeballed from the waveform. Finer-grained data.

The Pico code might be good enough if the minimum time to execute the tests is short enough.