Thread: Tintype images washing away

Tintype images washing away

Hey folks! I'm new here so I'm still learning this website.

Anyways, I'm posting this because I have a reoccurring mishap. It doesn't happen everytime I decide to take some tintypes, but when it does it tends to happen in every attempt within a single sitting. What's happening is that when I pour my developer, much of my image just washes away... sometimes even more of the image washes away in the fixer. It's terribly frustrating.
    Im not too sure of the cause but I suspect it's due to the way I put my plate into the silver bath. I couldn't afford a silver tank so I use a developing tray. I will admit, I still have not gotten very good at consistently getting my plate in the bath smoothly. I'm still pretty new to wpc. That is the only thing I know for sure I'm doing wrong but I am a novice.

I'll add an example. Has this happened to anyone else?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails PXL_20230428_003144831.jpg  
    Last edited by MattyShotgun; 27-Apr-2023 at 19:17.

Re: Tintype images washing away

That’s an unusual problem. How old is the collodion your using?

I've gotten this issue with two different batches of collodion (the only two I've used so far)- UVP 4 (6 or 7 months old) and UVP X (3 months old)

Quote Originally Posted by MattyShotgun View Post
    I've gotten this issue with two different batches of collodion (the only two I've used so far)- UVP 4 (6 or 7 months old) and UVP X (3 months old)
    I think you should describe in as much detail as possible exactly what materials you are using, what technique, temperatures where you are, what you are using for plates, etc.

All my chemistry came from UV photographics. I use the iron copper developer. My trophy aluminum also came from UV photographics.