Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: printing cyanotypes on hahnemuhle platinum rag (challenges)

printing cyanotypes on hahnemuhle platinum rag (challenges)

Hello all-

first time poster; a photographer friend highly recommended this forum.

I am a visual artist with a painting background working with cyanotypes for nearly 10 years, about 2/3 or more of that time working on canvas - which I've found to be more forgiving - and more recently on paper, particularly Arches Platine.
    After struggling with what was probably a bad batch of Platine, I am trying to switch for the time being to hahnemuhle platinum rag, the 22" x 30" sheets.

I have printed a couple of sheets and am having lots of issues: splotching and lack of contrast, mainly.
    I expose outside, and low UV levels have been part of the issue; the other issue is likely (possibly) due to coating process as well as the size and type of transparency I'm using:

i've been making hand-made transparencies, usually on Dura-lar drafting film, but in this case using Yupo paper, a white transluscent, synthetic paper. (https://yupousa.com/what-is-yupo/)
    The size i'm using is roughly 22" square (about 21 3/4" by just over 22" specifically) so there's little margin from transparency to paper.

I'm attaching an image that has the hahnemuhle print on the left, and a print on Bee Mixed Media paper on the right for comparison- much better though still not ideal (https://www.jerrysartarama.com/bee-d...d-36inx5yd-808)

The feedback I've received from my contact at Bostick & Sullivan, where I've been buying supplies for years, is that (in lieu of using Tween), I should brush the paper with water, allow to be 80% dry, and then coat the paper with the cyanotype mixture (another contact there recommended 10% solution Ferrric Amon. Citrate and 10% Potassium Ferricyanide) to get a proper coating.