Thread: De Vere 1010XLH enlarger with 4800 watt De Vere Dichromat 5 lamp house

De Vere 1010XLH enlarger with 4800 watt De Vere Dichromat 5 lamp house

I have been making large format bw photographs since 1987, and have had three darkrooms. I worked in 4x5" for over 30 years, then in 2012 I began my journey into wet collodion and ULF, which then led me to formats as large as 20x24". My favorite film format currently is 8x10", for which I use a Toyo 810 monorail camera. To enlarge these 8x10" negatives I had Frankensteined a copy camera chassis and built a wooden negative holder on top of which I placed an LED light bank which I got from Home Depot for $50. It worked surprisingly well until, while printing, the light would stop working (I'm guessing it was overheating) and I had to wait 15 minutes to continue. So, when a good friend told me about a DeVere 1010 XLH which he was getting and was going to resell, I bought it.

This enlarger belonged to the recently passed and very talented photographer Jody Forster (https://www.andrewsmithgallery.com/e...ter/index.html). He shot 8x10" for decades and enlarged up to 30x40" silver prints, with stunning results. The enlarger was marked as free to whomever could come to Arizona and pick it up. My friend made the trip and picked this up along with a Saltzman 8x10" enlarger, both in great condition and both free. It took a few weeks of research and trial and error, plus phone calls to the fantastic Kevin at KHB Photographix in Canada. As the process was complicated, and there are others with this enlarger possibly not able to get it running, I thought I would share my minimal knowledge.

Information on the De Vere 1010XLH

Voltage Regulator (external)