Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which lens type for Sinar F1 ?

Which lens type for Sinar F1 ?

Hello,

I'm new to LF - still building up a system in fact.

I have the Sinar F1 and some Fidelity Elite backs. The main thing missing now is a lens :-)

Should I go for a behind the lens shutter and shutterless lenses, or with normal lenses in a (copal) shutter? I'm only aiming to get a few lenses (90, 150 and something longish 300 or 360+500).

Thanks,

colin

Hi Colin,
    welcome to the world of LF. I started out with a Sinar F1 as well - what a great camera. I really learned a lot using that camera and the built-in shift/tilt/and DOF dials. I would strongly suggest to use regular lenses in Copal or Compur shutters, because like me you might get a different camera later on and the Sinar shutter might not be of any value to you then for the new camera - and trust me you do want to keep that precious glass you are buying! LF is an interesting phenomenon - your first camera is never the last, you always end up buying additional lenses - even if you are convinced that you would only need three. Interchangeability is key in my opinion. Again welcome and let us know how you are making out! This is a great forum to get help - I know it has kept me going:-)
    Juergen

Properly set up, the Sinar shutters could be very nice. But I've heard and felt them impart vibration to the camera when they go off -- but maybe the one I saw wasn't working 100%. Also the official Sinar hardware for mounting a shutterless lens is almost as expensive as a new Copal! However, if you are buying used lenses off eBay, often the shutterless Sinar mounted lenses are a good deal because few people want them (which will bite you back if you go to resell them).

Modern lenses in a modern Copal (or better yet, a Compur) are really great. You can use them on different non-Sinar cameras too.