Thread: Thinking of buying an Omega B-8 enlarger

Thinking of buying an Omega B-8 enlarger

Hey LFP crew,
    I am a total beginner on print making but because I am fascinated with the work of Alexey Titarenko, the Russian photographer who shot long exposure images on his home town of Leningrad I want to start to print my negatives. I have a Besler 23C ll but that won't do 4x5 unless there are some drastic modifications done on the unit. I am looking at a few enlargers this weekend in the DC - Balt area, an Omega B-8 for $95, Omega D2 black & white enlarger w/ lenses & accessories asking $100. With the Omega B-8 the guy wants $95 for the enlarger and lens. The enlarger has been refurbed by Classic Enlargers. The caveat is that he has a bundle of timers and trays, and other items that I don't need. He wants to sell it at a package for $160 which means I'll be stuck selling all the extras to get back to somewhere around $95. To me the fact that it's been refurbed is huge. Am I placing too high an emphasis on that? He can't recall when it was refurbed. If it was 5-7 years ago then great. If it was in 1993 then it's not a big deal. The fact that he can't recall when it was refurb leads me to believe it was quite some time ago. I like the idea that the B-8 takes up little real estate.

Wondering if I should get either, wait for something else, or make prints of my 35mm & 120 and just scan my 4x5s.

Note that the person with the B-8 included the following in their ad: "converted to use regular D series negative carriers by Classic Enlargers - entirely refurbished w/ new baseboard"

Thanks to the generosity of all of you who contribute.
    Last edited by Mike Ratel; 5-Nov-2021 at 20:46. Reason: added "converted to use..."

Re: Thinking of buying an Omega B-8 enlarger