Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: UK lens makers and budget lenses questions

UK lens makers and budget lenses questions

Hi there

I am new to large format photography, having recently inherited a lovely old Lancaster quarter plate camera with a barrel lens.

I would like to buy a shuttered lens for the camera, in time I will look to invest proper money in it, but for now a new darkroom project is demanding my funds.

Can anyone recommend please, either:

a) specific lenses I should look out for as a budget, entry level option, or

b) some UK based manufacturers of large format lenses - many of the cheaper lenses I have seen out there are in the US. It would help to have the names of UK lens makers to search for outside of "proper" camera shops so I can track down a bargain from someone selling "this old camera lens" they found in their loft, not knowing what they possess.

Many thanks

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3547.jpg 
Views:	29 
Size:	75.3 KB 
ID:	216082

Re: UK lens makers and budget lenses questions

If looking for something with a working shutter, most LF lenses mounted in late model shutters came from Germany or Japan.

look for Dallmeyer + Compur
    or for Taylor & Hobson + Compound

My Flickr

I see that your Lancaster is from 1902, when they had begun their decline from the glorious 1890’s! It is also just contemporaneous with the introduction of more reliable shutters - although their reliability in 2021 can be called into question!

This was also the era of the front and rear mounted curtain shutters, pioneered by Thornton - Pickard. These are comparatively simple to operate, renovate although only providing a few different speeds - but it was quite sufficient for the Edwardians! All you have to do is to get hold of one which has an opening that:
    - matches the size of the flange (for lens board mounted T-P shutters) OR
    - matches the diameter of the lens hood (for the front mounting versions)