Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Help with finding a proper cable release

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3

    Question Help with finding a proper cable release

    Hey all,

    Thank you in advance for your time.

    I recently purchased a Wista 4x5 SP. It's an absolute beauty! I'm having an issue with a cable release I'm using - it fits in the lens itself but does not mount due to it not being able to bend when attempting to pop the lens onto the camera. I'll attach some images so it makes more sense.

    If possible, I'd appreciate recommendations of a cable release that is small enough for me use while the lens is mounted to the camera. Also, adapters that will properly fit will be great as well!

    Best regards,
    Jeremy

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120263235_696511317740990_4946551516007306982_n.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	64.6 KB 
ID:	208168Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120298006_3345810275483966_2121822016334933228_n.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	53.9 KB 
ID:	208169Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120435838_1219088575131922_641517697905618843_n.jpg 
Views:	41 
Size:	53.8 KB 
ID:	208170Click image for larger version. 

Name:	120585050_3390730044337355_2099174890907096160_n.jpg 
Views:	40 
Size:	61.7 KB 
ID:	208171

  2. #2
    Tin Can's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    15,045

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    here is one and it may NOT be useful for you

    Search BH

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...Adapter_L.html
    where is the monolith

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Buford, GA
    Posts
    13,482

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    Gepe Pro Wide Angle Cable Release Adapter.

  4. #4
    ic-racer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5,735

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    You don't say if the lens is mounted with the index pin. If so, you can remove the pin and rotate the shutter 45 degrees and see if that solves the problem.

  5. #5
    ic-racer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5,735

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    Also, you could swap out the shutter for a newer one with the release socket like this.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	copal-0-verschluss.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	43.4 KB 
ID:	208172

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    North of Chicago
    Posts
    1,430

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    Try rotating the lens on the board 45. You'll have more real estate to work with and you may not need any kind of adapter. If you do want an adapter the Gepe Mr Salomon recommended works very well.
    ____________________________________________

    Richard Wasserman

    https://www.rwasserman.com/

    http://richardwassermanphotographer.tumblr.com

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    Thank you all for the help - I'm going to wait for that gepe adapter above.

    I went ahead and purchased this - not sure if it will work but crossing fingers! (https://www.ebay.com/itm/5-Cable-Rel...72.m2749.l2649) seems small enough?

    Have a good one, all!

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    3

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    I was initially going to get this but, it seems like it may be a bit too long as well.

    Nonetheless, thank you for your time, Tin Can!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Central Mother Lode, California
    Posts
    451

    Re: Help with finding a proper cable release

    I think you'll find the suggestion by ic-racer and Richard Wasserman to rotate the lens so that the the cable release socket is pointing more nearly upward is a good solution. A cable release that may fit in to it in this orientation, such as the Gepe, may interfere with the front standard if you were to tilt the lens back. It looks like the shutter is not mounted with a flange but rather a retaining ring in the back so this should be reasonably simple. If it has the index pin that ic-racer mentions, that needs to be removed.

    The previous version of the No. 1 Compur had a cable release socket arrangement rather like the one shown on ic-racer's example of a No. 0 Copal and would not have presented this problem. I don't know why these later (last) No. 1 Compurs are like this. Maybe the internal changes made in the re-design leading to a top speed of 1/500 vs 1/400 ( for the earlier No. 1 Compur) necessitated doing it this way.

    David

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-Oct-2016, 01:40
  2. cable release thread snapped off in shutter release thread
    By rphenning in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 4-Nov-2009, 13:46
  3. remote cable release or self-timer release?
    By bill_1041 in forum Gear
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 4-Apr-2000, 12:51

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •