Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sinar Multi-format rollfilm back questions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Sinar Multi-format rollfilm back questions

Hi, I'd like to ask a couple of questions to anyone familiar with the Sinar Zoom 2 Multi-format rollfilm back. I'm new to LF, and would like to get a rollfilm b ack for my Wisner 4x5 Pocket Expedition. I love the idea of being able to change formats midroll with the Sinar, but...

1) Does anyone know the unit's size/weight? I'm guessing it looks roughly simila r to a Fuji Quickload holder. I've checked Sinar's webpages for US and Switzerla nd, and B&H's catalogue, but there is no info for size/weight. I'm interested in its 6x7, 6x9, and 6x12 formats for landscape use. I want to include it in my ba ckpack, and am concerned about adding more bulk & weight to an already hefty pac k. I assume that this single unit would weigh less, and use less room, than if I got single-format backs for just 6x7 and 6x12 formats?

2) If I obtain a "like-new" used unit that *appears* to be in excellent shape, a re there any hidden flaws that I need to watch out for? Can it come out of film plane alignment, etc? I've not yet used a rollfilm back, so don't know much abou t them other than what I've gleaned from review of online questions.

Thanks in advance for any advice

It is bulkier, especially on the end where the film cartridge goes. About 2.5x t he weight of a Quickload holder, and longer by about an inch. But yes it is smaller and less bulky thatn say two Horseman roll film backs.

2.) It is standard Sinar quality, which is to say very high.

You want to make sure your camera has a Graflok mechanism to hold the back firml y in place.

I dunno Bob, read the instructions?

The frame counter is a bit desorienting at first. It shows instead of frames, th e length of film still available for both 120 and 220 films.