Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Center Filter for 47mm XL

Center Filter for 47mm XL

I am new to this lens and would like to know if I need Centre filter for Schneider SA 47mm XL on a 4x5 format? I notice that it has a 4x (2stop) Centre filter so it might have some pretty pronounce vignette. From your learned experience, is it very pronounce? or it helps if I stop down to f22 or less?

sorry for the noob question.

Thanks in Advance.

Re: Center Filter for 47mm XL

See my test result thread. I tested light fall-off for this lens.

It has pronounced fall-off due to optical characteristics of an ultrawide lens. Whether or not you "need" the CF depends on your personal taste/aesthetic. Issues will be most apparent with high-contrast, low dynamic range film like chromes, especially with scans that can't handle deep shadow. I use a CF almost always with my Schneider XL lenses (38mm through 90mm), though occasionally I get away with not doing so on the 58mm (and only on 617 when using the 72 and 90). I use it even for black and white - see my latest images on the medium format thread as an example of the 38mm XL on 6x9, with the 2-stop filter.

If you are shooting black and white or maybe even color negative* film I would try it out first and decide if you want the filter to even the exposure out. You can always burn down the edges but bringing them up is harder if they go to deep shadow.

*In my experience color negative film will be okay in terms of density but color shift may occur due to the fall-off characteristics when pulling up the shadows, so YMMV.
    Bryan | Blog | YouTube | Instagram | Portfolio
    All comments and thoughtful critique welcome

Yes, you pretty much need it, heavy vignetting in the corners on 4x5 without it.

Quote Originally Posted by xiaubauu View Post
    From your learned experience, is it very pronounce? or it helps if I stop down to f22 or less?