Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: berlebach -every now and then, the tripod question

berlebach -every now and then, the tripod question

Dear LFers, I've been checking out this forum regularly for over 3 years now and have never posted a single comment. So, first of all, thanks to all for sharing your experiences and helping keep up LF really alive. I'm a semi-pro architecture photographer (semi meaning I have a regular office job and shoot mainly freelance with only 4-5 assignments a year) with interests in mountain landscape and studio work too. I've got a Sinar F2.
    To the point: Time has come to part my massive Manfrotto 075 / Bogen 3036 tripod and matching 029/ 3027 3-way head. It worked fine, but I need a not so burdensome replacement. When shooting landscape, I've borrowed a Gitzo CF 1327 a couple of times (yes, I carry the F2 in my backpack) and I loved it. But my pockets are not endless and for the moment, it's out of consideration to get one of "those".
    I've been reading good reviews about Berlebach tripods, seems the 3032 is the one. The idea of using only the built-in ball head in the field is very attractive. Will the F2 be OK on the head? Is it feasible to also use it with a 3D head for reliable architecture work? Any one uses a Berlebach for this?
    Architecture is the priority (shooting around 70% of the time v/s 20% landscape and 10% studio). I'm 5ft10".
    Thanks in advance

Antonio,

Berelbach does not have a built in ball head. It has a built-in leveling column so you usually would want a head to supplement the limited leveling in the tripod (±15•). The leveling supplied with the tripod is an aid in getting the camera level on uneven surfaces while maintaining the best leg positions. It is not designed as a full function camera positioning device.