Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another new member :)

Another new member :)

Hi, all!

My name is Norm and I'm a photographer in Los Angeles. I actually don't own a large format camera or even a medium format one; I'm shooting 35mm. I'm going through the photography program at Santa Monica College and am currently enrolled in Photo 37, which is Advanced Black & White. We're learning the Zone System, using it to photograph our assignments, processing our film accordingly, and printing in the darkroom.

Like I mentioned up front, I'm shooting 35mm. I'd like to graduate up to medium format in the nearish future and have my eyes on a Hasselblad. My reasons for joining this forum dedicated to large format are purely selfish: I was hoping to peruse the sub-forum for sales since I need an easel for my class, but now that I've read the FAQ I know I won't be able to access that particular sub-forum for another 30 days I also hope to lurk and learn more specifically about printing since anything I learn here will be an advantage I can use to earn an "A" in Photo 37!

Thanks a ton for reading. Some day I'll be a master like some of you folks are, but for now I'm content to watch and learn

Re: Another new member :)

Hi Norm

Good luck with your studies! It is a bit a pity to do an advanced Black&White course with only a 35mm camera. Medium format are very cheap nowadays (if you exclude the super stars: Hasselblad, Mamiya7, Rollei..), you should definitively get one. Investing in a large format camera is an other story but if you have the opportunity to borrow one at your college, do it! This would be a great opportunity to apply what you learned about the Zone system. The ZS does not make sense with roll films. Of course with a lot of efforts (or cameras) you could apply the Zone System to 35mm or medium format, but it is just a pain in the A.

Dom