Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bare shutter cost dilemma

Total noob

Bare shutter cost dilemma

I was very generously given the lens cells for a 150mm lens recently. All I need to buy to use this lens is a Copal #1 shutter and install the lens elements. Looking on eBay I can buy a complete lens with shutter for less money than just a plain shutter by itself. I don't get it. I don't want to buy a complete lens just to remove the elements to retrofit what I currently have. Why are plain shutters so expensive?

Re: Bare shutter cost dilemma

Most 150s Need a 0 shutter. Usually a 180 and 210 are in 1 size shutters. Which 150 do you have?
    New shutters are no longer made and are used in a very small market so they are expensive.

Quote Originally Posted by PCC View Post
    I was very generously given...
    Yes, as you have discovered, if you just need the shutter the lens cells alone are nearly worthless.

Total noob

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Salomon View Post
    Most 150s Need a 0 shutter. Usually a 180 and 210 are in 1 size shutters. Which 150 do you have?
    New shutters are no longer made and are used in a very small market so they are expensive.
    It's a Schneider Kreuznach Symmar 150mm f/5.6 convertible. The threads for the front element and for the rear element are different and quite a bit larger than the threads of the #0 shutter that I have on another lens. S/N is 985XXXX.

Quote Originally Posted by ic-racer View Post
    Yes, as you have discovered, if you just need the shutter the lens cells alone are nearly worthless.
    As I'm finding out. I guess I have this whole thing backwards since the lens makes the image and the shutter controls the exposure, I always thought the glass was the more valuable component here.

what sort of lens is it. You might be able to get away with a Press copal shutter. They can be had much cheaper.

Dan